Lamp and Blanket

My lamp and my blanket make up my homework area, which I interact with on a daily basis. I tend to surround my self with objects that have a minimalist design, meaning: stream line shape, organic line, solid color (usually pastels), little pattern, no ornamentation, symmetrical, well proportioned, and made of recycled materials. In particular my lap is white and black with a cylindrical shade and a simple base. My blanket is a lavender color with tiny flowers embroidered at one end. I interact with these object positively; I love them! I like these objects because they do a task, creating light and keeping me warm. If they were made of a different material they could be defective in their task. I think design can have a lot to do with functionality of an object, but in this case the design has only to do with how much I love them, not so much functionality. The materials of the objects are very important. The lamp is made of recycled metal and canvas and the blanket is made of recycled plastic bottles. So in this case environmental awareness was very important to the objects and to my self. I would say that these objects reflect my personality because I like things to be very symmetrical and clean. I really like minimalist design because it only uses something to make the message clear and nothing else.

Leave a Reply

