Progress #1

I haven’t been able to work with the press yet, but I have a good idea of the primary type I want to use and the size. I have noticed that Jack Stauffacher (the printer I’m researching) mixes serif and sans serif fonts. His favorite font was Janson, so I would like to find something similar. Depending on what is available for the press, again I haven’t been able to explore yet, I’d like to mainly work with a smaller 10 point serif combined with a larger 20 point sans serif font. Stauffacher mainly used wooden type, but I have a feeling I’ll need to mix metal and wood, if I can even use wood type. I also want to explore the use of a display type, printed large as an abstract shape rather than a specific letter. Stauffacher tended to use letters in multiple orientations, upside down, sideways, and inverted. I can’t wait to see how that turns out!

As far as paper, I really want to explore printing of multiple different forms, newspaper, 50 pound paper, 100 pound paper, magazine paper, recycled paper, and FSC certified paper for the finished products. For size, I’d like to work with 11 by 17 to ensure negative space and the size of the display type.

I’ll be working with the Excelsior press, the smaller of the presses. Stauffacher used a Chandler and Price, which is also here at Maryville but harder to work with for a new printer.

For color options, I really would like to stick to black and white while I’m focusing on the typography. When I complete the set of prints to mimic Stauffacher I would like to use color selectively to draw attention to a specific part of the piece. I still want this project to focus of the process of the press and the creative process of typography.

The more I explore the use of type, I think I will need a subject. Stauffacher mainly designed covers of books and journals, so I will take modern journals and books and develop a new cover with Stauffacher’s style.

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by gotgestalt on 15 November, 2011 at 10:43 pm

    You have some good and clear directions for your project so far. I’m still in the process of seeing about getting our rollers resurfaced and when I’m at the Atlanta Printmaker’s Studio this weekend, I’ll see if they have some recommendations for a company with quick turnaround (that might be local) to get this done. In the meantime, I’m glad you are checking in with other options for the project. Additionally, there are many websites that will give you substitution recommendations for fonts and you might even find a few type specimen books in the library.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

