Exit Through the Gift Shop

Wow. Exit Through the Gift Shop. I can not say enough how amazing this film was. It questioned everything about art. How do we define it. Who makes the “rules.” Who gets to break the “rules.” What are boundaries? Where are the boundaries? It has inspired me. This film makes me want to dye my hair, get a tattoo, and not care what the world thinks about my self expression.

I had no idea there was a whole network of street artists who are actually purposeful in their art. I’ve come to truly appreciate the art of graffiti. They have a message to tell the public. They work hard to create an image they want to put up. Then they have to find the perfect wall and put up their image without getting caught by the police. That’s incredible. I wish there was more danger in other medias. An adrenaline rush would make art so much more exciting.

Leave a Reply

