Century Gothic

This is my most favorite font. I feel like it has the most open, negative space. I really like how it feels fun but also a shy type. I think I like it the most because I see myself in the font.

Naturally, I found some information about Century Gothic from the infamous wikipedia, “Century Gothic is a geometric sans-serif typeface designed for Monotype Imaging in 1991. Century Gothic takes inspiration from Sol Hess’s Twentieth Century, which was drawn between 1937 and 1947 for the  Lanston Monotype Company as a version of the successful Futura typeface, but with a larger x-height and more even stroke width. The Century Gothic face is distinct for its single-story lowercase a and g. Century Gothic is more closely related to Avant Garde Gothic, designed by Herb Lubalin, and release by the International Typeface Corporation (ITC) in 1970.”

From further research, to confirm wikipedia, I found out Century Gothic was in fact created in Massachusetts by Sol Hess. Many websites praise the use of Century Gothic in everything from newspapers to brochures. People say that Century Gothic uses less ink, perhaps because of the thin geometrical shape. Professeurs at the University of Wisconsin even call is the eco font.

After a little researching, I love Century Gothic even more! I found out that it was released the year I was born, so maybe I have a weird connection in that way. I’m also an environmentalist, so saving 30% of ink is a big plus. Who knew even a font choice could effect the environment.

Leave a Reply

