Urban Woods

After looking through a few of the artists I’m already familiar with, debbie wijskamp, I realized that I love sustainable furniture. That’s when I found Urban Woods. They create beautiful furniture from reclaimed wood in Los Angeles. On their Why? page they explained why they do what they do. In California wood is clogging the sewer systems, air pollution problems, causing mud slides due to deforestation, and much more. They sited this stat: “Scientists estimate that we are losing more than 137 species of plants and animals every single day because of rain forest deforestation.” Why can’t we repurpose our furniture, and our “trash” to serve a purpose? Why not make a couch out of cardboard? Why not use the wood from an old barn to make a coffee table? People don’t realize the waste we already have. I think Urban Woods has started something truly sustainable and I hope the people they come in contact with will really think about their every day decisions that effect their environment. I think their work is incredibly sustainable, considering the material use. The things I would worry about are the glues they use to put the pieces together and the energy used by power tools to construct the furniture. But, they’ve thought of that too. On their site they state they only use water based, non-toxic stains, and formaldehyde free glues. So on the scale of 1 to 5 for sustainability, I think they deserve a 5.

Ubran Woods. 2011. Web. 17 January 2011. http://www.urbanwoods.net/

2 responses to this post.

  1. I believe what Urban Woods is doing is a wonderful thing, since they are reducing the waste by reusing materials. I like how they use reclaimed woods, eco-friendly materials, and goes with the process of environmentally conscious manufacturing. I would give them the rating of 4 out of 5, BUT, from a realistic point of view some use of additional materials cannot be avoided, so, since they acknowledge it and tries to use an alternative, I also believe they deserve the rating of 5 out of 5.

    Reply

  2. I think that the process and ideology behind Urban Woods should be followed by more furniture companies because reusing wood from demolition sites also keeps it out of landfills. I also liked that the furniture they produce with the recycled wood and environmentally friendly techniques appears to look like something that was made with “new” material. Since they seem to do everything possible to make the process of building furniture as eco-conscious as possible I would also rate them a 5 out of 5.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

